Our Modern Family

 

What makes a “Family”?  We live in a world that is so diverse and different, the idea of family can mean many things. I always felt like a perfect family was mum, dad and the kids. That perfect family with the white picket fence we all dream of having. My idea of family has changed a lot since becoming a mother, so I thought I’d start my first blog post here with the journey of my own little family.

In our household, our family consists of myself, my daughter from a previous relationship, my partner and our son who is 6 months old. We may not be your “traditional” family, but to me our little family is a reminder that there are always second chances in love and life.

Rewind back a few years, I was a new mum living on my own with my wee babe, wondering how I was ever going to get through this parenting journey on my own.  At home, it was just the two of us, but we quickly adapted and developed our own rhythm. We grew together, and I was learning as much from her as she was from me. I learnt to share her, to be away from her when I missed her the most. I learnt to keep a brave face even though I was going through hell . I spent countless nights thinking about how my child might “miss out” because she was having to go between two parents, never experiencing that “family” lifestyle I always hoped she would have. As we grew, I realised that while I was worrying about whether or not I was doing enough for my child, she was such a happy little girl with no idea that she had missed out on anything. She was lucky enough to have two families, two birthdays, two Christmases and twice the amount of love. Life doesn’t always go the way we plan it to, sometimes it ends up being far greater than we could ever have imagined it to be. Sometimes we gain so much more from what we feel we have lost.

As time went by, I learnt to let go and completely enjoy raising my daughter and our little family of two. We were never truly on our own, and were lucky to have family members who provided enough love and comfort to keep our hearts happy. Eventually, I met prince charming (down at the pub might I add) and he completely changed my idea of what a family could be. Not only did he take the time to get to know me, he took the time to get to know my daughter. He loved us unconditionally and sacrificed his way of life to fit in with ours.The three of us fit together perfectly, and this year we completed our family with our son.

If someone had told me 3 and a half years ago that I would be a mother of two, happily engaged and living in a blended family, I would never have believed them. Family is Family regardless of titles,roles or bloodline. Most importantly, Family is love.  This has been my biggest lesson since becoming a mother and I only hope to continue to share these lessons with my little ones.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Our Modern Family

  1. Wow this is so touching Kristelle, So true about you dont have to be blood related to be Family just sharing the Quality’s of Family values and responsibility makes you family. You have grown up to be a beautiful responsible Daughter ,Niece, Sister, friend, cousin, mother and soon to be Wife. Takes a clever girl to figure out when you are feeling tossed around like a salad and so down that being grateful you are healthy and safe is the best method to have and the rest will follow. Love you heaps Aunty xxx

    Like

    1. Thankyou Aunty, I’ve learnt a lot over the last few years, especially about the meaning of family, and the importance of family. Glad you enjoyed reading this xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

