My body and I – Part 2. At home workout routine

Over the last 3 weeks I have changed my eating habits (see here ) and have been working out from home. Workouts are usually done late at night once the kids are in bed and my partner is home from the gym. I made the decision to exercise from home because I felt I needed the extra motivation to push myself further than I would on my own.. also it works for us and our lifestyle. In a few weeks I will get some dumb bells/ kettle bells etc, but for now I have been using only body weights and things around the home to workout.

Here is my progress over the last 3 weeks, I am definitely noticing a difference around my mid section and thighs! I have also included my work out routine below. For yoga I usually just use google or pinterest for inspo.  I’m no expert, but this is what has worked for me personally and I hope it helps those of you out there who are wanting new exercise ideas, or don’t know where to begin 🙂

 

IMG_5673
8th February

 

 

bodyprogress
1st March

 

Workout Routine

I usually start the week fresh with a full body workout with a bit of cardio to get myself back into workout mode. In the beginning I started with low reps and worked my way up to higher reps each week. You don’t need to start off with this many, but can also add more reps if you find that you’re not doing enough. It all depends on you 🙂 .

MONDAY: FULL BODY WORKOUT

  1. Lunges x 15 (Each leg)
  2. Burpees x 20
  3. Pressups x 10
  4. Tricep Dips x 10
  5. Twisted mountain climbers x 40
  6. Jumping squats x20
  7. Leg raisers (alternate ) x 20
  8. Heel taps x 40
  9. Plank 45 seconds

Rest for 1 minute in between sets and repeat this set 2 more times.

TUESDAY: ABS

  1. Twisted mountain climbers x 40
  2. Leg raisers (alternate) x 20
  3. Heel taps x 40
  4. crunches x 20
  5. Russian twists x 20
  6. Alternate knees to elbows x 20
  7. Plank 45 seconds

Rest for 1 minute in between sets and repeat this set 2 more times.

WEDNESDAY: LIGHT YOGA AND A WALK

THURSDAY: LEG WORKOUT AND CARDIO

  1. Jumping jacks x 15, High knees x 15 ( do this 3 times)
  2. Burpees x 20
  3. Jumping squats x 15
  4. Normal squats (slowed down ) x 10
  5. Sprints x 6 (length of backyard)
  6. Lunges x 15 (each leg)

Rest for 1 minute in between sets and repeat this set 2 more times but work your way backwards (e.g start from #6 and finish at #1).

FRIDAY: UPPER BODY

Upper body is my least favourite area to work on as it is my weakest body part! I use soup cans for tricep and bicep exercises, but you can also use a milk bottle with both hands 🙂

  1. Push ups (as many as you can)
  2. Tricep dips on the chair x 10
  3. Tricep kick backs x 10
  4. Bicep curls x 20
  5. Shoulder press x 20

Rest for 1 minute in between sets and repeat this set 2 more times.

SATURDAY & SUNDAY : REST DAYS / WALKING/ LIGHT YOGA

Let me know your favourite exercises and comment with any tips and tricks down below! xx

Leave a Reply

