Like Mother, Like Daughter.

There is no one in this world that I could ever clash with as much as I do with this little babe. She’s confident, defiant and strong willed. She has an opinion on everything, and once she has her heart set on something there’s no changing her mind. As she grows, so does her defiance. I know that one day she will be a fierce leader, she just needs a bit of guidance along the way.

I didn’t realise just how true the phrase “Like mother, like daughter” was until I had a daughter of my own. We are alike in so many ways, and although that is something I adore about our relationship, its also something that makes me want to tear my hair out. Too often I see myself in her, I can see what she’s thinking and feeling as she tells me over and over that she doesn’t want to do something. She’s adamant she doesn’t want to do it, and she has plenty of reasons as to why she doesn’t want to. We bounce back and forth, some times arguing for longer than any parent in their right mind would argue with a child.

Raising such a strong willed individual can be a challenge on a good day, and on a bad day I am left feeling emotionally exhausted. Tonight I gave in to Jam sandwiches and cheese for dinner, I’m picking my battles and saving us from another meltdown. These are the days where I truly learn what it means to be a parent. To be selfless, to love unconditionally, and most of all to be patient and kind even when I don’t want to be.

While my little girl is learning who she is, she is also teaching me about who I am and the kind of mother that I want to be. I want our clashing personalities to strengthen our mother/ daughter relationship rather than divide us in the future. I hope my daughter always knows just how inspiring she is to me.

While there is still  plenty to learn on this parenting journey, it’s one of the most important journeys we will ever make. Let’s do all we can to raise our daughters right.

 

Leave a Reply

